How to color features specific HEX colors using conditional symbology with arcade

04-26-2023 10:50 AM
Labels (2)
e_ruda
by
New Contributor

Hi all, I'm a newbie to ArcGIS Pro, and most of the things I know I've either taught myself, read about online, or I remember from a bit of ArcMap training I had a few years ago. I have a hyper-specific question, and I'm struggling to find other community posts that even sort-of help. Apologies in advance if my jargon is wrong.

Basically, I have a feature class with a bunch of polygons (rooms within a building), and I am trying to display the symbology by the "Unit" that's assigned to that polygon. That much is simple. However, I have a pre-determined list of HEX color codes that are assigned to each unit, and I'd like to be able to use that list of color codes in Arc so that I can keep everything consistent. I can add the colors manually, but obviously that's super time consuming and doesn't help if I add more values and everything re-randomizes. I'd like to build an expression in Arcade that just automatically colors my map, as needed. I don't think Arc takes HEX color codes, so I can just convert to rgb, that's not a big issue. Below is my code that I've pieced together from other help forums, but it's not accomplishing what I need.

e_ruda_0-1682530871940.png

Like I mentioned before, I'm a complete newbie, and even newer to Arcade coding, so any and all help is appreciated. Thanks in advance!

Edit: I have ArcGIS Pro 2.7.0 if that helps!

0 Kudos
4 Replies
DanielMiranda2
Occasional Contributor

Just to make sure, are you entering this expression in the Vary symbology by attribute section of the symbology pane under color?

DanielMiranda2_0-1682537772105.png

If so, this help doc explains how the RGB code should be output. It needs to be a string, Attribute-driven color in symbology—ArcGIS Pro | Documentation with just rgb(r, g, b).

So your code as a starting point could look like this:

if($feature.UNIT == "unit A"){