Delete feature using attribute rules?

Jump to solution
09-30-2021 04:48 AM
RPGIS
by
Occasional Contributor III

Hi,

I am trying to delete a feature based on the length of time that passes. I am hoping to fully automate a project that we are working on so that if a certain number of days pass, then that particular feature gets deleted. I hope someone can assist. I am relatively new to attribute rules but the few that I have implemented, it has helped significantly with automating tasks.

var From = Date($feature.OutageEnd)
var To = Date(Now())
var DaysAfterOutage = DateDiff(To, From, 'days')

//Constants for defining which features to delete//
var UniqueID = $feature.GlobalID

//Define which features to delete after a given amount of time//
if (DaysAfterOutage >= 7){
return {
'edit':[
'deletes':[
{UniqueID}
]
]
}
}

Any help on this would be greatly appreciated.

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
JohannesLindner
MVP Frequent Contributor

Other than scheduling a python script to run periodically, I know of no way to do that completely automatically.

I think the Attribute Rule approach comes pretty close. All you have to do to execute it is insert a new feature or update an existing one.

Have a great day!
Johannes

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
3 Replies
JohannesLindner
MVP Frequent Contributor

There are a number of things that would be good in this scenario but aren't possible:

• You can't auto delete a feature after a certain time
  • You can't run a rule on a whole table, only on features
  • You can't run a rule on demand, only when you insert/update/delete a feature (for calculation attribute rules)

So fully automated deletion won't be possible. But there are a few things that could make it easier:

• You cold symbolize features that are ready to delete differently using symbol property connections.
    For example, you could symbolize "normal" features blue and deletable features red: