Boost Analysis Speed with VM?

04-13-2020 02:30 PM
RobertButtrick
New Contributor II

Hello there, hope you are all well.

I'm hoping someone can explain the benefits of using ArcGIS Pro in a Virtual Machine such as Azure. I am a GIS Masters student in my first semester and I am working on a project that is taking a long analysis time. Its not a complicated project, I'm calculating rooftop solar radiation. So I am using the Area Solar Radiation tool and a 0.7m DSM for an entire county. However, I have played with the tool settings and I do not seem to be making any headway on decreasing the analysis time. I feel bad for my poor computer, it hasn't had a moment of rest in days. So I have been researching Virtual Machine Computing, which I have no experience with.

There is a lot of information out there on the subject, but most of it is geared towards ArcGIS Enterprise or 3D rendering. I just wanted to know if a virtual machine could decrease my analysis time, and if so how does one go about doing that?

Thanks.

0 Kudos
8 Replies
DanPatterson_Retired
MVP Emeritus

From the area solar radiation tool

... do some test runs with a coarser resolution or subset of your data to ensure the settings are correct before committing a run with the full-resolution data.

I find it hard to believe that you would have need a 0.7 m raster for a whole country to get the solar potential results that you need.

Perhaps you can clarify your workflow.  Simply aggregating or filtering your elevations by a factor of 2 will reduce computations by approximately a factor of 4

RobertButtrick
New Contributor II

Thank you for your response. I have run several tests with the tool, using a 10m DEM and decreasing the number of calculation directions, however, when I make the leap to the 0.7m it really increases the time.