Select to view content in your preferred language

ArcGIS Pro Python

07-13-2022 12:23 PM
Williams_Gregory
New Contributor II

I'm looking to create a tool or script using python that will list the selected records from a polygon feature layer after clicking a location.  I will then use information from a specific field (file location) to import into the current map a TIF image or CAD DWG file.  I'm new to python programing and I'm just looking for some suggestions on where to the start.  Every time I think I have found a existing geoprocessing tool within ArcGIS Pro that I can copy python code into model builder or the python window it's just a dead-end.  Any suggestions would be helpful...Thanks!

0 Kudos
1 Reply
KalinaStoycheva
New Contributor II

When you say select by location you mean select by the attribute of another polygon layer right? if so, the tool for selection is relatively simple to build. Here are the steps:

1. From Analysis choose Model builder to open your new model.

2. From Analysis again choose tools and search for the Select Layer by Location tool. Once you see it click and drag it to the Model builder panel. 

3. Again from the geoprocessing window search for  Select tool and drag it as well. This is what you should see:

KalinaStoycheva_1-1657788467263.png

4. Click on the right corner of the output feature class box of the Select tool and drag it to Select layer by Location box to connect them. From the connect options choose Selecting Features.

KalinaStoycheva_2-1657788771199.png

5. Right click on Select Layer By location and choose Create Variable -> From Parameter -> Input Features (this will be the layer with the selected features). One it's created right click on it and make it a Parameter. Parameters are the variables that can be seen once you run the model.