Select to view content in your preferred language

ArcGIS Pro - Laptop vs. Desktop, ect.

01-22-2024 01:31 PM
Labels (1)
blueskytoph
New Contributor

Hello everyone,

I am a former GIS Analyst turned adventure guide that has been given the opportunity to utilize my past skills in mapping to help make new hiking/property maps for the ranch I work for. I have been out of the industry for about 3 years now so there is quite a bit of rust to knock off. 

My first question pertains to laptop vs desktop use with ArcGIS Pro. I do not have access to a desktop, and my work laptop is a Lenovo ThinkPad.  I have been given permission to get an individual ArcGIS Pro license but I am aware that the laptop I have probably lacks the graphics capabilities that would be ideal to run the software.  Would ArcGIS Pro still run effectively on a laptop like the ThinkPad?  If the answer is no, what options do I have in regards to access to ArcGIS without investing into a new laptop or desktop.  Are there any places I can pay for desktop usage as long as I provide the license?  I reached out to a local University that has a GIS Lab but I am still awaiting a response.

Any information would be appreciated!

0 Kudos
3 Replies
CodyPatterson
Regular Contributor

Hey @blueskytoph 

You may find this link here useful, it details the system requirements for ArcGIS Pro 3.2, along with a tool that tests your system to verify how closely the requirements fit: https://pro.arcgis.com/en/pro-app/latest/get-started/arcgis-pro-system-requirements.htm

I currently am using a laptop with a Radeon 780M, 32 GB of ram and a Ryzen 7 PRO 7840U and can run many windows of Pro without issue, some of the Server systems that I have gotten Pro to run on have been slow, but they have worked in a pinch!

Let me know if I can help any further!

Cody

0 Kudos
blueskytoph
New Contributor

Awesome, 

Thank you Cody, I appreciate the quick response. Very helpful link.

0 Kudos
CodyPatterson
Regular Contributor