ARC GIS icon size issues

06-08-2011 11:32 AM
Labels (1)
AndrewTaylor
New Contributor II

The ARCGIS ArcMap toobar icons were annoyingly small on my machine, so I changed my icon size to "Large Icons" (right click on toolbar area>Customize>Options>clicked on "Large Icons").

The problem is, the resultant large icons were too big and extremely pixelated and ugly.

ESRI should create a new set of toolbar icon images be created that weren't pixelated, and preferably a little smaller than the current ""Large Icons" selection.

8 Comments
MichaelGrün
Damn right! Please create larger and well resoluted icons.
JohnKerkering1
Compltely agree. As an instructor, I would like to integrate these icons into my tutorials and PowerPoint slides. The available crop of icons are much too small to be integrated into a PowerPoint and have them still be discernible to an audience. As they stand, they become too blurry and pixelated when stretched beyond 1 square inch.
AlexanderGray
This goes for developers too.  Making a useful icon in a 32X32 image is almost impossible.  This is so limitting!
JohnDye

Agree, this a pretty dumb issue for ESRI to let sit idle.

We do a lot of MXD customization so I investigated this. The issue really comes down to ArcGIS only having a single 16x16 iconset and simply upscaling those 16x16 icons to 32x32 when you select 'Large Icons' in the Customizations menu instead of switching out the iconset like any other decently written program on the face of the earth would do.

I had to resort to creating new 32x32 png icons and installing them on the toolbars and then saving that out as a custom 'Large Icons MXD'. 

I then whipped up a little AutoHotKey script, pulled the ArcMap Icon from the bin folder and created a 'ArcMap.exe' , that prompts whether to use large icons or small icons. If you pick large, it launches the large icons MXD, small, it launches the small icons MXD.