Add "Create New Feature Class" option to "Add Data" dropdown

08-13-2021 07:06 AM
Labels (1)
BillMitchell
New Contributor III

As a developer, I sometimes need to create a very small dataset for prototyping or proof-of-concept.  I want to put a few points/lines/polygons on a map.

The workflow I expect is something like:

1. Create new map
  2. Click "Add Data"
  3. Click "New feature class"
  4. Fill in dialog box asking for filename, geometry type, etc.
  5. Add my points, lines, or polygons
  6. Save somewhere
  7. Back to my development work

The workflow I get is:

1. Start without template (I don't need to save the project, just a feature class)
  2. Create new map
  3. Click "Add Data", because that's what I want to do
  4. Hmph, there's no way to create a new feature class
  5. Look for "Create new layer/feature class" button
  6. Ask the internet how to create a new layer/feature class
  7. Open the Catalog pane (had to search for that because the iconography isn't consistent)
  8. Expand the Databases item
  9. Right-click Default.gdb (wouldn't have thought to do that)
  10. Select 'New'
  11. Finally get the "Create new feature class" button that should have been under "Add Data"
  12. Add my points/lines/polygons
  13. Get back to development work, wishing that the UX for this was as easy as it is in QGIS where there's a prominent "New layer" button on the main toolbar.
5 Comments
KoryKramer

@BillMitchell for the use case you've presented - "I want to put a few points/lines/polygons on a map." You can use Map notes:

KoryKramer_0-1628868343899.png

Insert tab > add Point Map Notes gives you a quick point feature class for testing, Line Map notes, etc.

If you want points, lines and polygons all at once, use one of the other templates and they'll all be created at once.

Does that meet your needs?

BillMitchell