Zip Codes Heat Map (areas, not points)?

11-08-2018 08:15 AM
JGraupner
New Contributor II

I'm new to ArcGIS Online and am trying to do a fairly easy task with some difficulty. I have imported a .CSV  file just containing survey participants Zip Codes.  When I import them as addresses/ZIP codes, I can get a heat map of frequency of zip codes (which is what I want), but ArcGIS Online is treating them like singular points (rather than the full area of the Zip Code Boundary). I have also imported the Chicago Zip Codes Boundary zipped shape file. 

Do I have to merge these layers or tables somehow? How can I make ArcGIS recognize these zip code frequencies as full zip code areas and not points?

Thanks!

Tags (2)
9 Replies
deleted-user-qpvAI3Fo0MKR
Occasional Contributor III

Just so I understand you clearly - 

you're wanting to roll your addresses (which are point data) up into the zip code "boundary" (I use parentheses here because zip codes aren't polygons, they're linear routes). You're then wanting to symbolize your zip code areas with some color scheme to indicate the number of responses, say a light blue-to- dark blue color scheme that looks like this:

Image result for choropleth 

If I've understood you correctly, you'll need to add the total number of responses per zip code, and then get these results into a new column in your zip code boundary data, say, call this column TotalResponses or something like this.

Once you've done this, when you bring the results into AGO, you'll be able to symbolize on this field, like this (ignore the Shape__Area, I'm just using this dataset as an example)

Does this help?

0 Kudos
JGraupner
New Contributor II