Select to view content in your preferred language

Wrap/stack a text string label in an AGOL web map

Jump to solution
02-01-2022 12:23 PM
JayHodny
Frequent Contributor

Hello.  I have labels using an attribute text string that I would like to "wrap and stack" on my web map.  In Pro, I am able to do this using Labeling Properties (see screen shot).  I published the service but the labeling itself did not carry through to the service (maybe I missed a setting in the Share Web Layer?).

JayHodny_0-1643746462967.png

I read that classic map viewer does not support the idea but the new map viewer does (maybe)?  I opened my web map in the new map viewer and poked around on the Label features dialogue but was not successful.

JayHodny_1-1643746906637.png

I am an Arcade beginner, but was wondering if there is an arcade function or code snippet available to do this, for example, wrap and stack the text string at the first space in the string?  Thanks!

20 Replies
sajjady
Emerging Contributor

Hi @KenBuja  Its really work but this expression is for only one field. I have three fields to lable for a polygon. Could you plese share your eperience how i can lable 3 fields with stack/wrap.

0 Kudos
KenBuja
MVP Esteemed Contributor

You can always add more fields to a label string. This example uses template literals.

var output = `${$feature.field1} and ${$feature.field2}`

0 Kudos
JonathanHallam1
Regular Contributor

Used the top code but doens't work when field has a list with Domain

$feature["Camper"]
DomainName($feature, "Camper")

How do I update code?
0 Kudos
MappyIan
Frequent Contributor

Thanks for these bits of code @KenBuja, but I had a problem with the first example if the feature has a <null> value for the field I was trying to label with.  I modified the code to add an if statement so that it only tries to add a new line if there is a value in the field:

var array = split($feature.yourField, " ");
var string;
if (Count(array)>1) {
  for (var k in array){