Select to view content in your preferred language

Slope analysis failed

Jump to solution
11-17-2023 12:59 PM
Rich_VanB
Emerging Contributor

Hello,

I'm new to raster analysis in ArcGIS online and trying to apply my knowledge from ArcMap to this platform. With the availability of the ArcGIS Image extension, I thought I'd develop some raster exercises for my students.

I'm working with a 10m DEM of Oregon (Elevation Framework - 10m DEM (Oregon Lamber Int'l Feet)) that's readily available online. I thought I'd start out with a simple slope and aspect calculation. When I set up the slope raster analysis tool using this DEM, I'm able to see a preview of the analysis without any problem. However when I run the analysis, the process unfolds for a while, but always kicks out a "Slope failed" message. A layer is created, but it can't be opened since it's a failed product.

I've attached a snapshot of the error log below. What simple step am I missing? I see that I may need to adjust the Z factor, since the map is in feet and the analysis may be in meters, but that's not the cause of the failure. I don't see any caveats in the tool description about initial steps or prep that I'm not doing. I've tried running the slope tool using a DEM from another source, but still have the analysis fail. Is there something I'm overlooking with my source layer? Or could it be something I haven't set up properly in AGOL?

Any ideas?

- Rich

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
lingtangraster
Emerging Contributor

Hi Rich, 

Perform analysis is guarded with a few imagery layer settings, including the allowed size limit for a single request, a detailed reading could be found here:  Understand imagery layer settings for analysis—ArcGIS Online | Documentation