Raster Tools affecting outlines after Polygon to Raster Conversion

06-15-2021 03:06 PM
MatthewDembo
New Contributor

Images from ArcGIS Desktop, but Online showing same thing.  I am a student doing my best to build a raster from scratch.  I have chosen a study area drawn as a polygon, that I then want to convert into a raster because I have collected data on it using a grid system of letters and numbers.  The process has been draw a polygon, then modify the polygon with the divide tool.  This appears to work okay (cells not aligned, but it's fine for this purpose.) with the polygon to raster tool, but every subsequent raster tool is affecting only the outline between the original cells.  Any suggestions on what to try here??

Drawn Polygon, after divide tool used:

MatthewDembo_1-1623794587331.png

Result of Polygon to Raster (Elevation):

MatthewDembo_0-1623794543924.png

Result of Slope Tool, using raster above.  Looking at the lines in-between cells, those are where the tool output is being generated...

MatthewDembo_2-1623794644197.png

Result of Hillshade Tool, using elev raster input:

MatthewDembo_4-1623794687380.png

3 Replies
GIS_Fox
Occasional Contributor III

Hi @MatthewDembo this could happen if all the cells are seen as the same value and only the outline is seen as the difference. One way to get around this is to remove the outline from the raster and let the changes in the cells' values dictate the raster changes based on value such as in the hillshade. Save the outline however and overlay it as a new layer and see if that solves it, I've run similar workflows and found that to be how I solved it. What version of software are you using if I may ask? Not too sure if this would matter but it's good practice to just run down the list of possible problems and narrow down further and further. If nothing else it will help build practice knowing the workflow and software.

Hope this helps, have a great week!