Select to view content in your preferred language

Loading a KML layer in real time (no cache).

Jump to solution
10-15-2012 12:50 AM
IgorNadal
Emerging Contributor
Hello:

I'm new in ArcGIS Online. I want to add a layer from the Web, from a URL that points to a KML file. I've been able to do this successfully. However, I'm interested in loading such KML in pure real time, because eventually I'll replace the file (which is just a sample) by a Java servlet which will obtain certain filtered references from a generic database.

What do I mean by "real time"? In my tests I've cleared my sample KML file but the map in ArcGIS Online still showed the content there. It seems that ArcGIS Online keeps some kind of cache. Is it possible to disable it and force a live load?

Thank you for your help.
Tags (2)
0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
MikeMinami
Esri Notable Contributor
We cache for performance reasons, so this will not be changing anytime soon. Yes, I suppose you could write your own Javascript app that makes a call to the KML utility service (http://utility.arcgis.com/sharing/kml). The KML utility that reads the KML file has a "refresh=true" parameter that will ignore the cache and read the file again.

Thanks,

Mike

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
9 Replies
MikeMinami
Esri Notable Contributor
The KML gets read each time the web map opens. The web map doesn't respond to real-time changes in the KML while the map is open. You could probably write your own application to do this...Check out the JavaScript API.

Thanks,

Mike
IgorNadal
Emerging Contributor
Hello Mike:

First of all, thank you for your support. I think that I should have been more precise about the "real-time" term. Because I really meant every time that the map is loaded, indeed (true, that's not "real-time"). For example, when I follow these steps, the map still shows the old version of the KML file:

1. I create a Web map with a KML layer on it.