Is it possible to join shape files and Census data using ArcGIS Online?

05-08-2015 01:00 PM
PaulaLambert
New Contributor II

Hi,

I have a subscription to ArcGIS online, and I'd like to map Census block population data from a file. I'm aware that in the ArcDesktop version, you have to join the Census data file with the TIGERLine Shape file, but can you do something similar in the Online version? If so, how?

Thanks in advance for your help and guidance.

8 Replies
KenBuja
MVP Esteemed Contributor

Please note that the GeoNet Help​ space is for discussions about GeoNet itself, not specific applications. When posting questions, please chose the appropriate space for it. I'll move this to the ArcGIS Online​ space.

BAXTERQ_ANDREWS
New Contributor III

I'm pretty sure you can.

SepheFox
Frequent Contributor

I don't believe you join tables in the same way as desktop, but you can certainly perform spatial join type analyses. What exactly are you hoping to achieve with the join?

0 Kudos
PaulaLambert
New Contributor II

My overall goal is to map 30 offices in the state of Virginia, draw a 40 mile boundary, and then calculate the percent (or total) population that falls outside of that threshold. I'd like to use Census block population data to do this, but I need to figure out a way to map the population data as a polygon, not as points. So from what I've read online, it appears that Census data (from American Fact Finder) needs to be joined with TigerLine shape files and then mapped to ArcGIS. If anyone has done something like this before and there is an easier way, please let me know, but I'm not seeing a way to do this through the ArcGIS Online version.

Thank you in advance for your help! I'm really appreciative!

SepheFox
Frequent Contributor