Having trouble creating a hosted layer.

Jump to solution
03-26-2019 07:25 AM
MichaelWoodward
New Contributor III

I have several shapefiles of our electrical system I'm trying to share on ArcGIS Online.  Two of the shapefiles are too large to add directly to the map.

"Notice:  This dataset is too large to add directly to the map. Upgrade to an ArcGIS Online subscription to publish larger data as hosted layers."

We have a subscription, and I am logged in.  I tried to follow the instructions here: https://doc.arcgis.com/en/arcgis-online/manage-data/publish-features.htm#ESRI_SECTION1_49CE0570C3BA4...  , but I see no options to create a hosted layer.  There is no box to publish the file as a hosted layer.  

I was wondering if this is a permissions issue, but I have all the permissions for my organization enabled.  

Any thoughts?  This is my first time using ArcGIS Online, I've been using ArcGIS Desktop exclusively until now.

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
MichaelWoodward
New Contributor III

I got this resolved with ArcGIS support yesterday afternoon.  We had a public account instead of an organizational account.  They were able to get me set up as an Administrator/Creator of our account.  I can now add larger shapefiles to hosted services, and add them to an ArcGIS Online map.

I guess the Online and Desktop licensing/users setups are different, or not connected?  When I go to My Esri, select My Organizations and Users, I am listed as an Admin.  We have 3 ArcGIS Desktop Basic Single Use Licenses listed under our License Summary.  I don't see anything about ArcGIS Online licenses there.

View solution in original post

17 Replies
by Anonymous User
Not applicable

Hi Michael,