Error 403 - Forbidden, Access denied

05-08-2013 04:52 AM
SeanMyers1
New Contributor
I can see a map with my data points.  But when I select on one and click on More Info, I get
[INDENT]"Error 403 - Forbidden

You don't have permission to access the requested resource. Please contact the web site owner for further assistance."[/INDENT]

The permissions on my files were the standard 744, but I have changed them to 777 on everything, and still get Error 403.
That means it is a permissions error.  But you can't give more permission than 777 (Everyone on Earth has full Read, Write and Execute).

I am new to ArcGIS.  Can someone with a little more experience suggest something ?

Thank you!
Tags (2)
0 Kudos
8 Replies
MikeMinami
Esri Notable Contributor
What kind of data did you add to your map?
Is possible, can you share your map publicly and post the URL here?

Thanks,

Mike
0 Kudos
SeanMyers1
New Contributor
Thank you Mike.

That would make the most sense.  And of couse that World Writable permissios 777 has to go.  But unfortunately the client isn't ready for the world to peruse the maps and photos. 

The data is about 500 MB of photos.  I access them by signing in to ArcGISOnline then clicking on MAP.  The map shows up, with my data points.  Each data point is a photo.  When I click on one of the data points I see a lot of data, with "more info" near the bottom.  It's when I click on "more info" that I get the Error 403 - Forbidden.

I will ask for permission to share so you can better see what I am dealing with, but simply don't have the authority to release it until then.

Thank you very much for any suggestions.
0 Kudos
MikeMinami
Esri Notable Contributor
Ok, now I understand a little better.

It appears that the attributes of your data has a URL field. The More Info link simply allows you to access that URL. The URL to the photo (I assume) is not accessible on the web.