Arcade newbie

04-03-2020 09:29 AM
TriciaHines
New Contributor II

My map viewer includes two layers that have census tract data. One is my layer, which has these attributes:

GEOID
Change_2018_2010

2010_count
2018_est

Per_change

I'd like to add those attributes to the already existing/formatted/lovely popup that comes with the Living Atlas ACS Race and Hispanic Origin by tract. They both share the GEOID attribute, so I thought the guidance in this blog post is most relevant.

Pump up Your Pop-ups With Arcade FeatureSets and the Living Atlas 

But I can't figure it out.

I'm a complete newbie to programming languages and Arcade. I've been reading blogs and watching the videos but I'm not making any progress. I could certainly join the layers in Desktop and move on, but I'd like to learn Arcade. I can't find a learning pathway that assumes you are a complete beginner. This blog post referenced above seems to be the most relevant, and I've stared at it for hours, but I'm not getting anywhere. 

Tags (1)
0 Kudos
3 Replies
XanderBakker
Esri Esteemed Contributor

Hi Tricia Hines , 

Have you explored the available lessons at learn.arcgis.com? Lesson Gallery | Learn ArcGIS  There are a couple that should get you started. To help you with your particular challenge, I have some instructions below.

Let me take you through the steps. To simulate your situation I added two layers of the living atlas that both share the GEOID. I will work on the Tract level to explain the process:

The pop-up by default has the following information:

We can edit this pop-up bu adding additional information to it. To do so we have to configure an expression on the layer to access your layer and retrieve the information you want to add. So enter the configuration of the pop-up and click on the Add button to configure the Arcade expression:

And this is were you start writing your expression: