Select to view content in your preferred language

DateDiff Help

04-29-2022 09:10 AM
MaryEllenStRomain
New Contributor

Hey everyone!

I'm very new to Arcade, so bear with me. 

In my AGO map, I have a "Parks" point layer and it's related "Assessments" table. I am trying to calculate a field in the "Parks" layer to display the days since the last assessment, based on the date field in the "Assessments" table. 

I understand that I need to use the DateDiff function, but it seems to be having a problem finding the related table and date field I'm wanting to point to. 

The relationship is a 1:M, and I'd like to pull the most recent assessment date. I'm not sure if it's the syntax or the 1:M that is causing an error:

var startDate = Date();
var endDate = Date(InspectionDate);
var age = DateDiff(endDate, startDate, 'days');
return age;

Execution Error:Runtime Error: Identifier Not Found. InspectionDate

Any help would be much appreciated! Thanks!

0 Kudos
4 Replies
jcarlson
MVP Esteemed Contributor

To access an attribute, you need to put $feature. in front of the attribute name. You can also use bracket notation, like $feature['InspectionDate'] to pull in an attribute.

Without the $feature., the expression is looking for a variable called "InspectionDate".

- Josh Carlson
Kendall County GIS
0 Kudos
MaryEllenStRomain
New Contributor

Thanks Josh!

I did play around with that. When I use $feature['InspectionDate'], it returns a Runtime Error: Identifier Not Found. InspectionDate. I'm pulling the 'InspectionDate' from my list of Globals and all of the test data is filled out with dates. Do I need to do something special to indicate that the 'InspectionDate' is in the related table of the $feature?

Thanks for your help!

0 Kudos
jcarlson
MVP Esteemed Contributor