Simple optimal route application

11-07-2011 06:13 AM
PhuNguyen3
New Contributor
I want to code a simple application using java that read data from street shapefile, calculate the shortest path between two vertices using an algorithm and display the route in MapBean of my app. What is want is a custom and simple route solver, for algorithm demo purpose only.

It might be simple task but the problem is that I am new with ArcGIS, and new with geographic field too. So I found many difficults in implementing the demo. I think the trouble is how to determine the adjacent edges of a vertex in the network. Is there any kind of junction connectivity table stored in shapefile  and how to read these data, using java.

Any help would be greatly appreciated !
Tags (2)
0 Kudos
15 Replies
JaySandhu
Esri Regular Contributor
A road dataset such as in shapefile format does not store any adjaceny (network topology information) with it. In fact there are no junctions. A road line feature class contains only roads. The actual road topology needs to be built from a set of rules that govern how roads connect, model bridge, tunnels, turn restrictions, etc. This is what the Network Analyst provides. It contains ways to make a network dataset from input line feature classes. The network dataset contains junctions and connectivity information and that can be queried. Network Analyst also provides the shortest path solver. So is your goal to write the shortest path solver or use an existing one?

Jay Sandhu
0 Kudos
PhuNguyen3
New Contributor
Thanks for your reply !

Actually, i want to write a new shortest path solver that used an algorithm like A* algorithm. So what I need is the connectivity information of the network, like knowing adjacent vertices of a junction. Do you mean the dataset that I used must contain those information in its attribute table ?