Adding facilities to the facility layer

06-20-2011 12:54 AM
LineJensen
New Contributor
Hi
Im very new to ArcGIS and especially to Network analyst.
My aim is to calculate the driving distance between 442 points to one location. I???m planning to use Network Analyst to do so, more specifically the ???closest facility???. However, my problem arise very fast. I???m able to create a ???new closest facility???. My problem is that now my ???facilities??? are empty and I can???t seem to get my 442 points ???copied??? into the facility layer. So after trying to solve this (I???m sure) very simple problem for to long now, I turn to the professionals ??
Thank you very much in advance

Line Jensen
Tags (2)
0 Kudos
6 Replies
AlexeyTereshenkov
Regular Contributor III
Hi Line,

The basic workflow for working with closest facilities is to add a network dataset to ArcMap and create a New Closest Facility layer via the Network Analyst toolbar.

Then you have to import your facilities and incidents from the Network Analyst window which can be activated from the Network Analyst toolbar.

Here is the Help page:
http://help.arcgis.com/en/arcgisdesktop/10.0/help/index.html#/Closest_facility_analysis/00470000004n...

So, what exactly is going wrong in your case?
0 Kudos
LineJensen
New Contributor
Thank you very much for your help.
Embarrassingly, it was me who wasn�??t aware that I should �??activate�?� the network analyst window. Once this came to my attention it was clear what needed to be done (I told you I was new at this 🙂 )