SharePoint HUB Structure versus SUB Sites....

07-31-2023 01:11 PM
BrianLabelleSMLP
New Contributor II

Good day to all...

I'm a SP Admin/Dev and installed the ArcGIS SharePoint Webpart in our MS Tenant.

Did a quick POC where I was able to display SharePoint GeoTagged documents across multiple SharePoint SUBSITES with ease. Geotags wrote to the SharePoint Term Store perfectly, etc...

The problem is that I have architected project with the more modern SharePoint HUB sites.

Are there any plans to implement HUB Site picker in the webpart when geotagging SharePoint Document Libraries ? I acknowledge the complexity of traversing 3 or 4 hub levels to aggregate doc libraries.

https://learn.microsoft.com/en-us/sharepoint/planning-hub-sites

https://sharepointmaven.com/hub-sites-vs-subsites/

ArcGIS-SP-Sub-vs-Hub-Sites.jpg

12 Comments
RaajRaaj

@BrianLabelleSMLP - Thanks for reaching out to us. I really appreciate your question. Currently we do not support "Hub sites" for the geotagging workflow. But I am going to add this to our backlog, discuss this with the leads and provide you an ETA as to when we can have this enhancement available to our users. I will keep you posted.

In the meantime, if you have any other questions regarding the product or if you'd like to share other ideas for future enhancements, please feel free to post it on EC.

Thanks once again.

Raaj

BrianLabelleSMLP

Raaj.

Thanks for being so active in the forum and answering so quickly. Looking forward to hearing back from you.

This webpart is a definite game changer for us. 

RaajRaaj

@BrianLabelleSMLP - Thanks for your kind words.🙂

BrianLabelleSMLP

Raaj... I'm sure that your dev ops team would already consider this, a feasible workaround for already deployed geotagged documents if / when the new webpart is ready. 

I don't want to waste the team's time all excited to geo tag everything, then have to do it again in a year from now ....

RaajRaaj