Take points with same site information

Jump to solution
09-19-2022 02:07 PM
BriJasinski
New Contributor

Hi I am new to ArcGIS Online and mobile platforms (although very familiar with ArcMaps and Desktop). I've been exploring trainings and forums and still have a few questions.

I am setting up a field maps program where our crew will be navigating to a single site with site-specific information and marking down the location of each tree in that site with tree-specific information. The next year, we come back and re-visit each tree within the site and take down tree-specific information as well as weather information that will apply to every tree on that specific day.

My questions are:

1) Is it possible within Field Maps to make site-specific information apply to all points taken without entering it at each point, like in Survey123?

2) Would it be possible to make weather information apply to all points updated within a specific day on the return visit, or would that have to be entered at each individual point?

As of now, I am thinking I should use Survey123 to collect the initial point data with site-specific information, then link that with Field Maps for return visits to update each point, with weather information updated individually.

Any advice or insights on this would be wonderful.

Thanks!

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
MobiusSnake
MVP

One option is to use both S123 and Field Maps, but in a different way than you described.  Web maps can be configured so that when you open a layer's pop-up in Field Maps, it contains a link that launches a S123 form.

Create a feature service that contains two datasets.  The first, a point layer for basic site information that won't change over time, possibly just the location and a unique ID.  The second, a non-spatial table containing visit-specific details such as tree information and weather.  There should be a 1:M relationship between sites and visits.