Select to view content in your preferred language

Setting the default units for Shape_Length in Field Maps and ArcGIS Online

a week ago
TrentonWalker
New Contributor II

Hi everybody,

Let me preface my question by saying that most of what I do in ArcGIS Pro, Field Maps, and ArcGIS Online has been self-taught. I am not a programmer and do not have any previous programming experience. I'll do my best to explain my problem with the correct terms, but there's a good chance I'll misuse or mix up terms, and I want to apologize in advance for that. I promise I'm not being dense on purpose - sometimes the terms used in the ESRI world aren't always very intuitive, so occasionally it's hard for me to grasp them.

Here's my issue:

I create maps for use in the Field Maps application using ArcGIS Pro, and I publish them as Web Maps. In ArcGIS Pro, my default length unit settings are set to feet. I can check this by looking on the Project tab, under Options, then Units, then Distance Units. Foot is selected as the default. These are the settings used when I publish a Web Map to ArcGIS Online.

The workers who use these maps have collected linear features on the map using the Field Maps application. I'm not sure if it matters or not, but I'm pretty sure they used the "stream location" feature to trace their steps as they walked out the length of the feature. Once this linear feature is created, the Shape_Length field is automatically populated, and that's great. It's very useful to have live, always updated information available to the workers in the field without having to manually calculate the geometry of a field after-the-fact (which I'm not even sure can be done from either the Field Maps application or ArcGIS Online - if I'm wrong, I'd love to be shown how to do this).

The problem is that the unit for Shape_Length appears to be meters now. Manually measuring the distance using the "Measure" tool shows a much larger value in feet - larger by a factor of essentially 3.28.