ArcGIS Explorer SDK GalleryWalkThrough Sample

04-20-2010 11:53 AM
NickJacob
New Contributor II
I'm playing around with the ArcGIS Explorer SDK samples and can't get the GalleryWalkthrough Sample code to work (VisualBasic).  As I understand it the sample code is supposed to create an Add-In that will place a graphic of my choosing on the map after a mouse click.  I can see the Add-In in AGX but when I click on the map no graphic is displayed.  Is it possible that theres something in the sample code that doesn't work well with the new 1200 build?

Currently I'm using AGX 1200, ArcGIS Explorer SDK, and Visual Studio Express 2008.

Obviously I'm new to developing so any advice would be much appreciated!

Nick
Washington, D.C.
0 Kudos
4 Replies
NickJacob
New Contributor II
Replying to my own thread here...

Still can't fix the sample code mentioned previously, however I did find a helpful link to share for anyone who is interested.  It includes a little more sample code related to the Gallery I'm trying to build.

http://resources.esri.com/help/900/arcgisexplorer/sdk/html/97a4466c-60d2-bae0-d47a-ecb073399c5f.htm

--------------------
Nick
GIS Analyst
Washington, D.C.
0 Kudos
ShellyGill2
Occasional Contributor
Hi Nick,

I'm using this Gallery Walkthrough and find its working fine for me in 2D and 3D views, in Visual Studio Express 2008. Clicking the drop-down list in the gallery, choose the Gallery item with the Information symbol, and you will see the mouse cursor changes to a cross-hair when you hover over the map. Then click on the map somewhere, and you should see a 'ray' display effect indicating where you clicked, and the information symbol is added to the map. If you show the gallery, but dont select a gallery item, then when you click on the map you will not see any 'ray' feedback highlighting where you just clicked, and the mouse cursor remains as a hand, indicating the map is just navigating. Could this possibly be what happened?