Passing on map properties from the parent to the children

Jump to solution
11-22-2022 10:39 AM
LefterisKoumis
Occasional Contributor III

Hello. A React newbie here.

I have a long script and for the purpose of managing the code I split it to different components. 

I have the widget (parent) component that I store the selected map in the jimuMapView.

Then, I have the children components that need to use the props of the jimuMapView so they add layers and graphics to that map, or other actions like zoom and so forth.

So, my question is how in the children components I can access the jimuMapView from the parent to add the layers?

None of the documentation or examples in ESRI address this scenario.

@RobertScheitlin__GISP , @Grant-S-Carroll or anyone else? Thank you.

activeViewChangeHandler = (jmv: JimuMapView) => {
    if (jmv) {this.setState({ jimuMapView: jmv }); }
  };

<div className="widget-addLayers jimu-widget p-2">
        {this.props.hasOwnProperty("useMapWidgetIds") &&
          this.props.useMapWidgetIds &&
          this.props.useMapWidgetIds[0] && (
            <JimuMapViewComponent
              useMapWidgetId={this.props.useMapWidgetIds?.[0]}
              onActiveViewChange={this.activeViewChangeHandler}
            />
          )}

0 Kudos
2 Solutions

Accepted Solutions
Grant-S-Carroll
Esri Contributor

Hi There

There are a couple of ways of achieving this, depending of what your are trying to do in your child component. 

1. You can simply pass the jimuMapView through in to your child component, by making the mapView a prop of the child component, see below.

In your child component, create an interface for the props.

GrantSCarroll_0-1669144339330.png

Then reference these in the class/function depending on what pattern you are using.

GrantSCarroll_1-1669144381068.png

You can then access the map via this.props.mapView

GrantSCarroll_2-1669144471729.png