Select to view content in your preferred language

Custom widget filter feature layer

07-26-2024 05:50 PM
MK13
by
Frequent Contributor

I am new to custom widget development for experience builder and Javascript. I would like to filter a hard coded feature layer based on a field. I have studied the code at https://developers.arcgis.com/experience-builder/sample-code/widgets/filter-feature-layer/ but it's relying on a feature layer set by the user. In my case, I am not getting any input from the user. I would like to filter the feature layer after it's added to the map on the click of a button. 

@TonghuiMing @AlixVezina @ShengdiZhang @WeiYing1 @Shen_Zhang @TianWen @Junshan_Liu @Grant-S-Carroll @DanJiang 

0 Kudos
8 Replies
TimWestern
Frequent Contributor

I have a couple of thoughts on what you might be seeing.

First, when you are in the editor application for Exb, you can add data sources from the left:

TimWestern_0-1722343064287.png

This may only make it available to plug into from out of the box widgets though.

You may need to explore creating a settings section that allows you to select the layer it should be linked to, and then you can use similar code to access it based on the index it was added to useDataSources.

(I don't know how experienced at other Dev work you may be so I'll add some definitions:
  An index is basically a natural number (0 to n) that represents position in the useDataSources Array
  You can create an enumeration type that has a key on the left that you can know internally is to reference a particular DataSource, and a integer on the left.  this article has some examples of different enums, but the values probably can be simply 0, 1, 2, 3, 4... 100 depending on how many data sources you need to add in settings for the widget.  
)