ArcGIS Server 10.3.1 installation issues

Jump to solution
01-18-2016 10:40 PM
Muqit_Zoarder
Occasional Contributor

Dear all,

I hope you all are in good health. I am new in ArcGIS server 10.3.1 installations. Please helpt me in some administrative issues. I have 3 servers (web sever IIS, sql server 2012 R2, ArcGIS server 10.3.1) and each one has windows server 2012 R2 as OS. Now please suggest me if my way of installations is ok or not.

1. I have make the arcgis server account as local. Is it ok or I have to make a active directory based domain account?

2. I want to install Data Store in same ArcGIS server but in other drive like D:/

3. Should I install the Web Adaptor in Web Server?

4. Should I install SQL server Native Clients in ArcGIS desktop client PC's?

5. Where I have to install ArcSDE (as Database Server in ESRI software site)? Should I install it in ArcGIS server or in Sql Server machine?

Please suggest me your guidelines. If there is any documentation for ArcGIS server administration rather than esri web help , please provide me.

Thanking you

Muqit Zoarder
Data Scientist
Germany.
Tags (1)
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
StefanJaquemar
New Contributor III

1. You can use a Domain account. If you used a local account first - then Change the account with the "Configure ArcGIS Server Account" Tool. Check that the new account has all neccessary permissions. http://server.arcgis.com/en/server/latest/administer/windows/the-arcgis-server-account.htm

2. You can install the data store "wherever you want" during the Installation. "Specify a location on the computer where you want these files to be stored." http://server.arcgis.com/en/portal/latest/administer/windows/install-data-store.htm

3. The WebAdaptor has to be installed on a Server with a WebServer running. In your case I recommend to install the WebAdaptor on the Web Server Machine.