Select to view content in your preferred language

Error 500 - Could Not Reserve Object IDs

3 weeks ago
JasminePrater
Occasional Contributor II

I am trying to add a new feature to an existing Portal 11.1 service that I published in a datastore I created.  I am a SQL Server admin and ArcGIS Enterprise admin.  I have tried editing the layer in ArcGIS Pro and in a map on Portal.  I tried this last week and encountered the same issue.  When I try to add the point, whether by Paste Special from another layer or by creating a new, blank feature, I receive the following message:

Failed to create Water Valve.
Error code: 500
Description: Internal server error.
Details: Could not reserve object IDs.
Insufficient permissions [42000:[Microsoft][ODBC Driver 18 for SQL Server][SQL Server]The EXECUTE permission was denied on the object 'i25_get_ids', database 'XXXXX', schema 'dbo'.] [WaterValve]

In Pro, I have tried this in a version I created for the service and a second version to make sure something wasn't wrong with my first version.  I've tried with these versions on Private, Protected, and Public settings.  I've tried pulling the data into a brand new ArcGIS Pro session without connections to anything other than Portal since I am using data from multiple sources and have a combination of Traditional and Branch Versioning in the original project.  This WaterValve service is uses Branch Versioning.  I have also checked the sharing in Portal, even though I'm the owner of the service and the admin.  I have restarted the ArcGIS Server Windows service and restarted the WaterValve service.

Anyone have any ideas of what the issue could be, or things I could try to resolve this?

0 Kudos
1 Reply
simoxu
by MVP Regular Contributor
MVP Regular Contributor

Make sure the account you use to connect to the enterprise geodatabase has sufficient permissions: read and write permission. You are the portal admin, so your portal privilege should not be a problem.