Select to view content in your preferred language

Categorizing a Calculated Data Expression Field in Arcade

Jump to solution
07-26-2024 01:24 PM
Labels (1)
DanielleKuchler
Occasional Contributor

Hello Esri Community,

I’m new to using Arcade expressions and I’m currently working on designing a chart element for a dashboard. My goal is to group average scores into 5 distinct categories to improve the clarity of the visual representation in my pie chart.

Here’s what I’ve accomplished so far:

• I’ve successfully used the created an "averagescore" field (average of 10 different features) in Arcade and used that expression in a pie chart
  • Currently, the pie chart displays all possible values calculated by the average, rather than categories or ranges

DanielleKuchler_0-1722022307637.png

As more data is collected, this setup will likely become cluttered and less effective.

What I Need Help With: I want to categorize the average scores into 5 distinct groups so that the pie chart will be more organized and easier to interpret. Here are example category titles:

• Score Between 0 and 1.9
  • Score Between 2 and 2.9
  • Score Between 3 and 3.9
  • Score above 4

Is there any way to do this within Arcade? Any advice or suggestions would be appreciated!

Here is my code so far:

//access steel structure results layer
var p = 'https://www.arcgis.com/'
var itemId = 'xyzxyzxyzxyzx'
var fs = FeatureSetByPortalItem(Portal(p), itemId, 0, ['Leg_1_Ftg_Score', 'Leg_2_Ftg_Score', 'Leg_3_Ftg_Score', 'Leg_4_Ftg_Score', 'Mid_Body_Score', 'Upper_Body_Arms_Score', 'score', 'Coating_Cond_Score', 'groundingscore', 'cathodicprotection_score' ], false);

//create empty dictionary
var fsDict = {
    'fields': [
        {'name': 'Leg_1_Ftg_Score', 'type': 'esriFieldTypeInteger'},
        {'name': 'Leg_2_Ftg_Score', 'type': 'esriFieldTypeInteger'},
        {'name': 'Leg_3_Ftg_Score', 'type': 'esriFieldTypeInteger'},
        {'name': 'Leg_4_Ftg_Score', 'type': 'esriFieldTypeInteger'},