Selecting a point on a map to collect data about (advance form)

Jump to solution
06-18-2021 09:03 AM
newwollyka
New Contributor III

Hi

I am new to ArcGIS online (trial subscription) and Survey123 but I have some experience working with QGIS and ODK and xlsforms.

I have a map with point features that represent buildings (each point represents a building location). I have the maps in QGIS; however, I want to export them in order to be used in Survey123 or Collector.

When we go into the field, we want to have an offline map which visualizes all the points that represent the buildings. I want to be able to move out in the field and navigate to these point features. I also want to be able to edit/add their characteristics in the field so the enumerator can click the point and fill a form (number of floors, types, etc.). The form is a little complex, it has multiple repeat groups (How many floors in the building, and in each floor, how many dwellings, and in each dwellings how many households). 

In addition, I want the enumerator to be able to add additional points, if necessary, in the field. For example, if there is a new building that wasn’t in the map, I want the enumerator to add a point on the map and fill the form.

I know that I can script the form in Survey123. I have already done that. But what I didn't figure it out is linking the form to the points/buildings. Is it possible to do it in? What tools do I need? 

I already asked a similar question : https://community.esri.com/t5/arcgis-survey123-questions/selecting-a-point-on-a-map-to-collect-data-... but till now I didn't figure it out yet!

0 Kudos
2 Solutions

Accepted Solutions
DougBrowning
MVP Esteemed Contributor