"Error occurred downloading map area"

Jump to solution
10-10-2022 05:13 PM
Rubicon
New Contributor II

I have a webmap with eleven AGOL hosted feature layers. The map and all of the layers are configured for offline use as far as I can tell according to this: https://doc.arcgis.com/en/arcgis-online/manage-data/take-maps-offline.htm#ESRI_SECTION1_C0331D55CAE1...

However, my coworkers and I are unable to download offline areas on the Collector app on both Android and iOS devices. The download immediately fails with the message "An error occurred downloading the map area". I tried creating a map package to download, and it failed to create the package after several hours.

Also, when I open the map on Collector, the data collection button (blue plus sign in the bottom right corner) is absent.

I have been creating and managing maps for Collector for two years and never run into this issue until now, and all of my older maps still work. I haven't changed my process for creating the maps.

I'm running ArcGIS Desktop 10.8.0 and Collector 20.2.2.

I am at a loss here and would appreciate any help.

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
ChristopherCounsell
MVP Regular Contributor

You should be moving to ArcGIS Field Maps. ArcGIS Collector retired at the start of this year on iOS and Android and will be removed from the App stores Nov 1 2022.

ArcGIS Collector on Windows is roughly equivalent to Collector for ArcGIS (Classic) and is in development hell. Better to use ArcGIS Pro on Windows 10 or wait until ArcGIS Field Maps is developed for Windows 11. I highlight this as testing ArcGIS Collector on Windows is not equivalent to testing iOS/Android.

So what I would recommend is:

• Open the web map in ArcGIS Field Maps web app (ArcGIS Online). There's a great new ability to see individual layer support for offline.