Set street edge

07-02-2012 09:04 AM
SheylaSantana
New Contributor III
Hello everybody.

I'm new in Cityengine and I'm trying to model the city I live.
It´s my doc project.

I'm facing a problem at this moment that i could not tell the program what is the face of the lot that is on the street side.
I've used the occlusion (touches), I used a script found here which makes the static shape becomes a dynamic shape by renumbering the vertices but still could not get a satisfactory answer. In some things I've read on the internet, I saw this "set street edge." Does anyone know how to use it? I'm not able to make it work. One difficulty I encountered, including related to the script that renumber the vertices, is that it makes only one side of the lot is returned as street side. Ok! But when the lot is a corner and has two sides to the street? How do I do?

How can I Determine Street Edges/StreetSide of Imported Blocks?

Does anyone have any tips?

Thanks!
Tags (3)
0 Kudos
3 Replies
AndreasUlmer
Esri Contributor
In case you have dynamic shapes (shapes are created automatically from street edges / blocks) you can simply use a CGA rule like this
Lot --> extrude(height) comp(f){streetSide : color(1,0,0) FacadeAtStreet | side : Facade | top : roofHip(20) Roof}

where the compSelector streetSide selects the extruded faces that face a neighboring street edge.

In case your lots/parcels are static shapes (e.g. imported as shapes, not created from street data) you need to manually set the street edges on the shapes.
* drag-select over the edges to be marked as "at street"
* menu -> Shapes -> Set Street Edges
* use the same CGA rule as above.
0 Kudos
MatthiasBuehler1
Frequent Contributor
additionally to Andi's input :