Inserting trees in scenes without tree points

08-27-2019 05:43 AM
AndrewWilliamson
New Contributor

Hi I am new to CityEngine, but more importantly new to any form of coding. I would like to be able to include multiple trees in a large scene in a random but controllable way, in the absence of imported tree points. A start would be able to edit the Plant_Distributor rule to be able to choose schematic trees as in the Plant_Loader rule. I thought I might be able to figure out how to do this myself but I can't! Please can anyone help me?

0 Kudos
6 Replies
CherylLau
Esri Regular Contributor

The Plant_Distributor uses the Plant_Loader, so you can access the Plant_Loader's attributes as well.  In the Inspector, click to expand the imported rule, and set Representation = Schematic.

Luiz_AmadeuCoutinho
Occasional Contributor III

Hi Andrew

You don´t need to import tree points to create trees. You can apply rules to polygons. Just drag the rule to the polygon. 

Here a printscreen of my area using greenSpace CG  rule and the result. Or here http://bit.ly/30FdkOD  

AndrewWilliamson
New Contributor

Thank you - most helpful.  I'm afraid I have another question! If I assign the Plant_Distributor rule to a shape, whether static or dynamic, the only parameter in the inspector which seems to change anything is Density: Max Height does nothing.  What do I do to change the overall scale of the trees?

Thank you again.

0 Kudos
CherylLau
Esri Regular Contributor

Grayed out attributes in the Inspector means the attributes are not being used during generation.  To use MaxHeight along with the other attributes under the group Custom Mix, set Mix = Custom.