Select to view content in your preferred language

ArcGISImageServiceLayer Issue

01-03-2011 09:54 AM
AndyWright
Occasional Contributor
I created a series of Mosaic Datasets from ECW files that are sitting in a File Geodatabase.  I then created ArcGIS Server image services for each of them, which I then consume within a Silverlight 2.0 API application.  When I initially viewed these ArcGISImageServiceLayers in my SL app there was a black background that filled the remaining map extent around the image itself.  I'll attach an image of this so you can see what I mean.  I then discovered the NoData property on the ArcGISImageServiceLayer object.  I set that to 255 for all my image services and the black background went away ... for all but one of my image services.  I am no image expert, but I can't for the life of me figure out why this one image service is not cooperating.  I figured I'd post something out here and see if anyone has run into this sort of thing before and knows of a workaround.

It does not appear to be an issue with the Mosaic Dataset or the image service as I can preview both of them in ArcCatalog and ArcMap and the black background is nowhere to be found.  All signs point to this being a Silverlight or Silverlight API 2.0 issue.

Thanks in advance for any help you can provide for me on this ...

Andy
0 Kudos
4 Replies
dotMorten_esri
Esri Notable Contributor
The default image format for Image services is JPEG. Did you change the image format to PNG or PNGJPG which support transparency?
0 Kudos
AndyWright
Occasional Contributor
Morten,

I didn't change anything about the image format at all. I just created the Mosaic Dataset, added a raster to it (ECW file), then published it as an Image Service. I did 12 ECW files exactly the same way and only one of them is showing this black background.

I just added this code and I stll get the black background ...

mosaicLayer.Url = Url;