Select to view content in your preferred language

TIN polygon tags, or some other way to create polygons from a TIN or a point file???

06-09-2010 03:38 PM
KateRamsden
New Contributor
Hi,
I have a file of irregularly spaced points that represent water depth (0-21 m).  I'd like to create polygons that represent areas of water inundation, based on defined intervals (0, 1-2, 2-3, etc etc).  I have tried a couple of different methods but don't feel like I've found the best way yet.

I am very new to 3D analyst and haven't worked with TINs before.  It seems like there are some options for creating polygons from a TIN using 3D analyst but I just can't quite figure out what I'm getting wrong.  I created a TIN with my points and it appears to look good.  Using the TIN polygon Tag tool results in a single polygon that is the extent of the TIN, even though when I created my TIN I chose the water depth interval attribute as the Tag value field.  I know I'm probably just not understanding something about the tool itself but so far the help documentation hasn't revealed the missing link to me.  🙂

Following some other posts I've read on here, I've also created contours with my TIN, and used the feature to polygon tool in arc toolbox in the Data Management Toolbox (along with a polygon of the study area boundary).  I used the point file to label the resulting polygons with my water depth interval, except that sometimes my contours are more narrow than the spacing of my points and that results in false zero values for polygons which I don't like. 

Right now I am trying to interpolate my points into a raster file, using the water depth interval, and thought I would try to create polygons using Spatial Analyst.  It's taking a long time, though - perhaps my cell size is too small.  Is there a row/column size limit on rasters? 

Thanks, any input is appreciated! 
Kate
Tags (1)
0 Kudos
4 Replies
JakubSisak
Regular Contributor II