3D analyst for modelling subsurface geology, any tutorial ?

08-08-2011 06:32 AM
yaskshelat
New Contributor
Hello
I am a geologist, We have recently purchased a ArcGIS version 10.0 (arc view) with 3D analyst extension (trial version of extension).
We would like to evaluate utility of 3D analyst for the application of 3D modelling of subsurface geology. We also want to plan drill hole targets using the arc scene or related tools.

Is there any tutorial specifically designed on using 3D analyst for modelling subsurface geology?

Regards,
Yask
Tags (1)
0 Kudos
7 Replies
JamieDrisdelle
New Contributor III
Hi Yask,

Take a look at the following link.  You might find it useful.

http://blogs.esri.com/Info/blogs/arcgisexplorerblog/archive/2011/04/29/creating-3d-cross-sections.as...

Jamie
0 Kudos
PrasantaBhattarai
Esri Contributor
Here's one example video of Subsurface Visualization. The video shows how to create a fence diagram, cross section from borehole data using 3D Analyst in ArcScene. http://resources.arcgis.com/gallery/video/3dgis

General workflow of the tools used on this video is outlined on this forum post:
http://forums.arcgis.com/threads/6973-creating-cross-sections-in-arcscene
0 Kudos
yaskshelat
New Contributor
Thanks for your replies

if in case anyone else come across such totorial videos or material please share...

Regards
Yask
0 Kudos
JakubSisak
Occasional Contributor III
Hello
We would like to evaluate utility of 3D analyst for the application of 3D modelling of subsurface geology.
Yask