Creating A Raster Dataset

12-29-2014 05:56 AM
deleted-user-_umMO8elsPd4
New Contributor II

I am relatively new to ArcGIS, and am creating a map for the water/sewer utility that I work for. I have a geodatabase created, but need to add my raster. This map is going on our Windows mobile device that does not have internet access, so I can't just use a Basemap from ESRI. I have 120 individual mosaic Sid tiles that I would like to add. What would be the best way to go about this? I didn't know if I should create a raster dataset with the toolbox, or create a layer package from the Table of Contents... or something completely different.

0 Kudos
5 Replies
QuinnFrancis
New Contributor III

Hi Alex,

You may want to create a mosaic dataset for your raster data using the Mosaic Dataset toolset.  You will first create an empty container in the gdb and then add your raster images.

Creating a mosaic dataset:

ArcGIS Help (10.2, 10.2.1, and 10.2.2)

MikeCusi
Occasional Contributor II

If you intend to use the image only as a background, i would mosaic it into a single raster dataset and save it inside the file geodatabase. mosaic datasets are slower and unless you create overviews, viewing the total extent of your 120 sids would need a bit more tweaking with your mosaic dataset properties.

0 Kudos
JakeSkinner
Esri Esteemed Contributor

As Mike stated, after overviews are built, a mosaic dataset will perform faster than a single raster dataset.  Creating a mosaic dataset takes a fraction of time to create, and also saves a tremendous amount of disk space.  Especially when dealing with SID images.  SIDs are highly compressed, so when you mosaic them to a single raster dataset, they will become uncompressed.  A SID that is only 3 MBs on disk, may be over 60 MBs when it's uncompressed.  A mosaic dataset will read the raw SID files and not have to uncompress them.  I would recommend using a mosaic dataset.

0 Kudos
MikeCusi
Occasional Contributor II