jkeen@aag

ENSO Phase III Webinar Tomorrow 10/24/2017

Blog Post created by jkeen@aag on Oct 23, 2017

https://smap.jpl.nasa.gov/system/internal_resources/details/original/252_globe_program.jpg

Date: Tues., Oct. 24th

Time:  5 pm ET/4 pm CT/3 pm MT/ 2 pm PT/ 11 pm UT
Log in information: https://gsfc610.adobeconnect.com/webinar1/

NASA Scientist John Bolten

5 to 5:30 pm: To start off Phase III of our ENSO Campaign, we are going to focus on Earth’s water. The first half of the webinar will be a presentation from a NASA scientist, Dr. John Bolten. He will share the many ways in which NASA missions are able to study Earth’s water.
Dr. John Bolten is the Associate Program Manager of Water Resources for the NASA Applied Sciences Program. His research focuses on the application of satellite-based remote sensing and land surface hydrological modeling for improved ecological and water resource management. Dr. Bolten is involved in several water resources management efforts in the Middle East, Central and North Africa, Southeast Asia, and United States. He is serving on the Panel on Global Hydrological Cycles and Water Resources for the 2017-2027 Decadal Survey for Earth Science and Applications from Space, and also serving as NASA DEVELOP Program Lead Science Advisor for the NASA Goddard Space Flight Center as well as Associate Editor for Water Resources Research. He received the M.S. and Ph.D. degrees in geology with an emphasis in hydrology and remote sensing from the University of South Carolina

5:30 to 6 pm: The second half of our webinar will focus on Collaboration.  We will share NASA Wavelength list of resources that teachers can use to teach students background behind this question, have a few GLOBE teachers/students in the U.S. share some “Best Practices” when using hydrology protocols and describe what they’ve learned about water quality in their region; discuss ideas for potential collaborations related to water quality, and discuss resources/support we can offer to enhance their collaboration.
 

We will focus on how to use NASA Wavelength as an instructional resource.

Upcoming events

We realize this time frame will not be good for everyone, and plan to stagger our webinar times to take into account the time zones for all our GLOBE family across the world. This webinar will be recorded, and you will be able to access it at your convenience.  Our next webinar, on Nov. 14th, will take place during a time that is convenient for those in Europe.
 

Outcomes