Fill Function, flow direction and Flow accumulation

02-02-2023 12:29 AM
Labels (1)
JanGauß
New Contributor

Hey there,

im pretty new to the topic of creating and deliniating watersheds using arc gis. However i found some "issues" using the Fill sinks tool followed by flow direction and flow accumulation tool. Im using a 1 by 1 m DEM and the running the Fill function results in flatening certain areas creating weird and straight accumulation paths. If i set the Z-limitation of the fill function on 0.02 helps preventing this issue (sometimes yes, sometimes not?!). Using the Z-limitation on the Fill leads to another problem with the flow accumulation beeing intersected in this area. Further the flow accumulation does not fit the virtual river line in this section at all. I have attached some screens of this area. Is there any workaround having relativly flat areas? Is it possible to "force" the flow accumulation to follow my river-line?

Im using ArcGIS Basic  version 10.8.2

Thanks in advance

Jan

0 Kudos
3 Replies
MarkBoucher
Occasional Contributor III

Jan,

My guess is that there is a road or railroad embankment that crosses your expected flow path (I can see it in your first image) and that the DEM is filled up there and doesn't "know" there is a culvert/bridge to for flows to go in that direction. When you fill you fill up to the lowest point on that embankment and the fill function does its job.

To get around this, add a line layer and draw a line where the culver/bridge is. The create a raster (DEMLine) using line(s) with the cell size, etc. of  the original DEM. Where the line is you should have 1 and where it is not 0. Then multiply DEMLine by some big number (say 500).

Now DEMLine from your original DEM  and you make DEM2. This step "burns" a hole in the DEM where the culvert/bridge is.