How to make one checkbox an exclusive choice Survey123

Jump to solution
02-08-2023 06:22 AM
mattCSimon1
New Contributor II

I am new to survey123 but not new to coding data entry forms and I'm trying to replicate a function that I use often. I want to make some of my checkboxes exclusive choices (Qualtrics terminology). In other words, when a user selects this checkbox, it means that none of the other checkboxes can be selected. I'm sure I'm missing an easy solution, but I'm stumped and couldn't find any solutions in the forums or documentation. Image below and excel attached.

mattCSimon1_0-1675865980620.png

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
jcarlson
MVP Esteemed Contributor

Take a look at Choice Filters. Trying to filter a question based on its own choices gets pretty wonky, and is not likely to work right. I can get a question to hide the other options when "none of the above" is checked, but the question "locks" after the initial selection, and I cannot check or uncheck anything. The GIF below doesn't show my clicks, but I'm trying my best to change the selection:

Survey123Connect_MHVLGjcmOa.gif

Best practice would be to have your choice filter operate on a separate question. You could break question 24 into two parts, perhaps. Have a select_multiple with all the problems except for the exclusive choices. Then put a select_one with "none of the above" and "prefer not to answer" immediately after it.

In my test form, my second question is called choices_exc, with the values being "none" and "no_answer". Then, in the choice_filter column of the main question, I have the expression not(selected(${choices_exc}, 'none') or selected(${choices_exc}, 'no_answer')).

There's a gap between the choices which is kind of annoying, but sometimes function comes before form.

Survey123Connect_bOLgExq3av.gif

In order to still capture the data, you could add some calculation logic to the main question to pipe in the selection from choices_exc if one is selected.