Scripted user parameter (Python)

09-02-2022 03:00 AM
TomGeo
by
Occasional Contributor III

I created an ETL tool, that works fine locally, but after publishing it to our portal my scripted user parameters do not work.

The reason for it:

INFORM: Python version 3.8 loaded successfully
ERROR : Python Exception <ModuleNotFoundError>: No module named 'arcpy'

My scripted user parameters are essentially in place to create and write the output of the tool into scratch workspaces. While I am working for several years now with FME, this is my first time creating and publishing an ETL tool. Hence, I am not so familiar with possible automatic path adjustments when publishing tools.

Question 1: So, could it be that I can simply keep the writers destination as an absolute (local) path and when publishing it to our portal the destination path will be pointed to a scratch location?

Question 2: How can it be that I publish something to an ArcGIS Enterprise Portal and that portal is not aware of a module called 'arcpy'?

- We are living in the 21st century.
GIS moved on and nobody needs a format consisting out of at least three files! No, nobody needs shapefiles, not even for the sake of an exchange format. Folks, use GeoPackage to exchange data with other GIS!
0 Kudos
2 Replies
BruceHarold
Esri Regular Contributor

Hi Tom, to write to a scratch location on your server and make use of the data during translation use this approach:

https://community.esri.com/t5/arcgis-data-interoperability-blog/building-a-data-driven-organization-...

We have a development issue to adopt the job folder scratch environment in ETL tools but it isn't there yet, so please control this as above.