How do I create a Cascade Attributes rule from attribute assistant in Attribute Rules using Arcade?

07-18-2019 06:39 AM
AllysonReynolds2
New Contributor II

Hello!

I am trying to move a bunch of Attribute Assistant rules to ArcPro's Attribute Rules, but I'm very new to Arcade. In particular, I am interested in the Cascade Attributes AA method. My example is using the MasterStreetName table to maintain road names in the RoadCenterlines and SiteAddressPoints feature classes.  How would I write this functionality in Arcade as a calculation Attribute Rule?

0 Kudos
2 Replies
ChrisFox
Esri Regular Contributor

Hi Allyson,

I am investigating updating our Address Data Management solution to ArcGIS Pro leveraging Attribute Rules right now and this behavior is one of the capabilities I am looking into.With the new attribute rule dictionary keywords and ability to add and update records in other layers in response to an edit event gets us a lot closer to accomplishing this. The issue I haven't figured out how to get around is by the time i get the update event in the Master Street Name table the street name has already been changed. I don't know what the street name was before the edit. If I could see the name before the edit I could search for all the matching centerlines and site address points and then update them to the new name. Will continue to work on this and let you know if I make any other progress on this.

https://pro.arcgis.com/en/pro-app/help/data/geodatabases/overview/attribute-rule-dictionary-keywords...

0 Kudos
ChrisFox
Esri Regular Contributor

Hi Allyson,