ArcGIS 10: Stream Modeling with LIDAR

07-27-2011 02:10 PM
Labels (1)
PeterPierce
New Contributor
Greetings,
Once again, I'm fairly new to the hydrologic modeling scene, so any input is appreciated. I'm running ArcGIS 10 with Spatial Analyst (with the hydrology tool set) as well as ArcHydro now. The group I'm working with is trying to generate an Environmental Benefits Index that includes some erosion focused layers that focus on field scale analyses, including localized drainage pathways and proximity and a stream power index layer (flow accumulation and Slope). My thinking is that we may break down the streams further into perennial, intermittent, and ephemeral streams in order to effectively describe erosional conditions (giving different weights to each for the index).

However, intermittent and ephemeral stream layers are not something generally available, so it sounds like I'll have to generate them. I tried out both hydrology tool set and archydro 2.0, with the former generating no results and the later unsatisfactory. Looked up TauDEM, but it lacks GUI but not command line (http://hydrology.usu.edu/taudem/taudem5.0/index.html). As we're a non-profit group, we're limited to using 10, and I don't have any experience with python or command line, and another forum post indicated that there were some issues with python versus command line (is TauDEM even functional with python?).

Any advice on how I can solve this with the tools at hand or any suggestions on literature?
Tags (2)
0 Kudos
2 Replies
KevinMacLeod1
Occasional Contributor III
Greetings,