Select to view content in your preferred language

Update existing rows/add new rows in master table from records in second table

Jump to solution
02-13-2012 09:54 AM
MarkHuffman
Deactivated User
I have a table that is a subset of a master table representing the parcel database. This subset is created every week and contains only updated and new records, and my task is to compare that table to the master table and, if existing records have different values, update those fields, and if there are new records, add those records to the master table.

This process has up to now been done in SDE using "sdeimport -o update_else_insert." I want to avoid interacting with SDE, but will if necessary.

My plan is to use SearchCursor to read the subset and the master table, and UpdateCursor and InsertCursor to edit the master table, using the APN as the key field. First, is this the right approach? Second, can someone please provide some starting code or psuedocode to help me? I am new at Python but not at programming. Thank you.
Tags (2)
0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
StacyRendall1
Frequent Contributor
Also, if anyone is interested, here is the code to perform this operation for arbitrary tables (fields only defined once at the start):