Custom brochure printing Python

Jump to solution
06-05-2015 07:03 PM
AicamLaacouri
New Contributor III

Hi everyone- I have an idea and I am just starting to learn Python so I would like to know if my idea can be executed using Python... So I have a polygon shapefile with 1000 polygons. Each polygon is a field/farm, the attribute table has the name of the owner and his/her address. I also happen to have a raster image that cover the same geography (satellite image). I want to print a brochure/newsletter to send it to these clients. In the front page of the brochure I will have texts and the address of the client (for postage). In the back, I want to print the clipped raster using the polygon for each field (each client has one corresponding polygon) as the clipping extent. Can I make a Python script that will my client specific brochures, so that the front of the brochure has the name and address of the client, and the back of the brochure has an image of the field (from the satellite raster image).  I want to spend time and learn about this idea but I thought to ask first if such a task is possible using python/arcmap. Thanks. Esam

0 Kudos
26 Replies
IanMurray
Frequent Contributor

Yes I use Python extensively with my templates.  I had to create the same set of three maps for several hundred polygon features, so I set up a template for each of the three maps I need, and used python to make a feature layer of each polygon ID in turn, zoom to it, then control each text elements already in the templates with data from the attribute table accessed via a search cursor.  All the layers I need for each map already exist in the templates and I have them turned on and off via python depending on other attributes.  So in the end I created ~2000 map documents and pdfs for the several hundred geometries in my feature class.