Calling Python Code from ARC GIS Pro

02-11-2021 08:01 AM
by Anonymous User
Not applicable

Hello,

I'm new to using ArcGIS Pro, so if I have framed the question in the wrong manner, please oblige! Any kind of insights would be really helpful.

Query: I have a front end on the ArcGIS Pro which has a United States Map being displayed to the user. Ther is a layer of US Counties embedded onto the map. So now the user can see all the counties on the US Map. The user can interact with the map by clicking on the map. Now my question is as follows :

Let's say a User clicks on Wake County in NC. I have a python code that runs at the back end on a server, lets say I created this on an ArcGIS Server. Can I send an HTTP Request or any sort of API request from the front end to the Python Code in which one of the API accepts County Name as the input parameter. Here on clicking on Wake County, the API has to be called with the parameter as "Wake County".

Can we do this on ArcGIS Pro. If Yes, can you briefly explain? Also, it would be helpful If you could route me to the resources/videos/documentation which would actually help me understand by reading it.

If no, any alternatives?

0 Kudos
4 Replies
MatthewDriscoll
MVP Alum

Perhaps look into creating an add-in for this.

https://pro.arcgis.com/en/pro-app/latest/sdk/

JohannesLindner
MVP Frequent Contributor
  • "I have a front end on the ArcGIS Pro" - Does this mean your users work with the actual ArcGIS Pro, or have you built a web map / web app?
  • "Can I send an HTTP Request or any sort of API request from the front end to the Python Code"
    • In ArcGIS Pro, your users could use the Python window to manually type in the code. AFAIK, there is no way to execute Python code by clicking on a feature.
    • If you built a custom web app, you might be able to do something like that by using the javascript API.
  • Alternatives:
    • Build an addon for ArcGIS Pro