Select to view content in your preferred language

Hello Everyone!

10-10-2022 07:50 AM
joshgarrett
New Contributor II

Hello everyone! Although I have been working in GIS for the past five years, I am just now starting to look into the online community here. I didn't realize how useful of a resource the community could be. Anyway, I work for a municipal government in Kansas and primarily focus on asset management, although I would like to broaden my horizons both within an beyond GIS. 

Outside of work, I am a huge geography and map nerd. I graduated with a degree in Geography and my personal interest has always been human and historical geography, but my time in school definitely left with with a greater appreciation for physical geography as well. All my friends think the fact that I collect old maps and globes is nerdy, hopefully I am in good company here. 

Before I close my introduction I would like to ask a work related question that hopefully someone here may be able offer some insight. Our organization currently uses CentralSquare Enterprise Asset Management (Lucity) to track our assets and work orders. Personally, I am not pleases with how the software integrates with our GIS data or ESRI applications. The problem only seems to get worse. I have been been curious about other asset management software that may have a better GIS component. The two I have been most interested in are CityWorks and Caregraph, both partners with ESRI, whereas CentralSquare is not. I would be interested to hear about other organizations using either of these programs and their experiences. 

Thanks everyone!

Josh Garrett
City of Lenexa, Kansas
1 Reply
JesseCloutier
Esri Community Manager