arcGIS Sport development

11-30-2020 06:09 AM
ATHodge
New Contributor II

Hi, I'm trying to find a way to run a sports event through arcGIS. I am confident it is possible, but i need some help coding in the necessary components. Unfortunately I have no coding experience. I work for a London, UK, based charity, LondonYouthRowing.com who provide developmental skills and experiences to young people who'd not normally have access to even the most basic provision, using rowing.  The event is a fundraising event with a community focus. If you're interested or able to help me out, please let me know.

Best wishes

Andy

PS this is my first time using the forum, i apologise if I've broken any rules or such like!

Tags (3)
0 Kudos
6 Replies
DavidPike
MVP Frequent Contributor

Hi Andy, happy to help you out.

0 Kudos
ATHodge
New Contributor II

Hi David, thanks for the quick reply. by way of a quick summary of what i'm trying to do and achieve. The event is for say 100 teams. In each team is 8 participants. The teams are racing over a virtual river Thames, UK, 346km.  The participants will contribute to the team mileage using indoor machines, rowing, running, cycling, arm bike, ski erg etc (anything with an electronic output.).  They will have a week to complete the challenge.  As they input their data i'd like to represent this on an online map - ie arcGIS!

So to do this i believe i'm looking at 4 stages, however where arcGIS comes into the picture is what i'm trying to work out, and therefore what help i need!

1) data input - the participants upload their individual data.  This we can do through an ESRI survey form or a google form. I also have a friend who's written some python scrip that can pull data submitted through twitter, and thinks he can do the same for Instagram (which i'm very excited about)