Finding GIS Internship or entry level position

10-10-2019 02:00 AM
Labels (1)
FawazAmjad
New Contributor

Hi there,

I graduated this past August 2019 with Bachelor of Science degree in Geography from George Mason Universsity. Recently I have been having hard time finding either entry level or internship position in GIS field. I have couple of years experience in all working at different places like grocery department, Budget truck rentals, and as independent contractor for Uber. Currently I am not working anywhere and spend time applying for either internship or entry level position in any company. I did some research with what I can do with Geography degree and I can go for either GIS Analysts or cartographic analyst position or even go for transportation planner. However, I am looking for internship or entry level position within Northern Virginia region or DC Metro Area. The issue is that I never worked in GIS field or any job experience related to my major which means I have no experience in that field. I applied for many GIS Intern position in different companies such as Dewberry and Booz Allen Hamilton hoping to start building my career but they did not accept me for even as intern. I am wondering is it because of age factor that I am over 28 years old and applying for internship? Maybe thats why they are never hiring me as intern? I also tried for entry level position but majority of companies require to have at least 3+ years experience which in my case I don't have it. Furthermore, I noticed that majority of GIS Analyst jobs requires to have knowledge in Python or any other programming languages which I personally find it very hard to understand it. However, I looked up cartographic position and they don't require any programming skills which is good for me because I don't really get programming very well. This leads me to another issue which is that in Northern Virginia or DC Metro Area there are very rare companies that has cartographic position and yet