geocoding using zip codes in mexico city

01-15-2012 02:30 PM
kellyknudtson
New Contributor
I'm a bit of GIS beginner, I'd appreciate any and all advice. I'm using ArcGIS 10. 

I'm trying to geocode a set of data I have only using zip codes in Mexico City. I was able to find data that had zip codes in Mexico City listing their lat/long, it was an excel doc and I've converted it into a shape file. Basically, how do I geocode this? I've been reading tutorials, but am having trouble because most of them are based on geocoding of US addresss.  When creating an address locator, what style should I be using, the general-single field? What about reference data, the shape file I made? If anyone can point to any tutorials or offer me advice on where to go or where I'm goin wrong, I would highly appreciate it. 

Thank you
Tags (2)
0 Kudos
1 Reply
JoeBorgione
MVP Emeritus
I'm a bit of GIS beginner, I'd appreciate any and all advice. I'm using ArcGIS 10. 

I'm trying to geocode a set of data I have only using zip codes in Mexico City. I was able to find data that had zip codes in Mexico City listing their lat/long, it was an excel doc and I've converted it into a shape file. Basically, how do I geocode this? I've been reading tutorials, but am having trouble because most of them are based on geocoding of US addresss.  When creating an address locator, what style should I be using, the general-single field? What about reference data, the shape file I made? If anyone can point to any tutorials or offer me advice on where to go or where I'm goin wrong, I would highly appreciate it. 

Thank you