Copying multiple polygons to create a new layer.

Jump to solution
02-05-2013 04:54 PM
ElyMcElroy
New Contributor
[ATTACH=CONFIG]21483[/ATTACH]

I'm making a replant map for a vineyard. The above example is pretty simple, but it gives you an idea. What I'd like to do, is select multiple blocks(polygons), for example all of the white blocks, and create a new shapefile from that selection. One that I would be completely separate, and I would be able to edit as a would normally. The black outlines are the basic blocks, and I'd like to be able to select a few, create a new shapefile, and format it to meet my needs. I don't care if the attributes are transferred, just the outlines. My current method involves hand-drawing a new polygon layer over the existing "blocks" layer, and then formatting it. Any ideas/methods would be greatly appreciated. I'm not very experienced with any of the coding aspects of this program, so go easy on me. Thanks in advance.
Tags (2)
0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
JohnSobetzer
Frequent Contributor
If you select the polygons you want and then right click on the layer in the TOC and choose Data - Export Data that doesn't work?

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
4 Replies
JohnSobetzer
Frequent Contributor
If you select the polygons you want and then right click on the layer in the TOC and choose Data - Export Data that doesn't work?
0 Kudos
JoshuaDamron
Occasional Contributor III
[ATTAAny ideas/methods would be greatly appreciated. I'm not very experienced with any of the coding aspects of this program, so go easy on me.

I think Johns method is probably what you are looking for.  It will place a both the feature geometry and attribute data into a new shape file.